The Disability Support Unit (DSU) which is located within the Division of Student Services and under the management of the Senior Student Development Specialist is tasked with the responsibility of operationalising a disability support service that responds to the needs of a diverse cohort of students with disabilities. This is intended to create an enabling environment so that students are valued in all their diversity and every opportunity is created for their success in the teaching and learning environment.The DSU located on the Howard College supports the Medical School Campus as well and the DSU’s on the Edgewood, Pietermaritzburg and Westville Campuses support the colleges to adequately empower staff and students to navigate the barriers associated with having a disability.

In 2016 the DSU is supporting its largest cohort of students (625) the majority of whom are visually disabled (225).
The disabilities include
  • visual and hearing impairments,
  • learning disabilities,
  • dysgraphia,
  • chronic illnesses,
  • physical disabilities,
  • rheumatoid arthritis,
  • Quadriplegia,
  • speech impairments (stuttering),
  • epilepsy,
  • spinal bifida,
  • fractured wrists, and
  • medical and mental conditions.
In relation to this, the DSU provides academic support services to students with both temporary and permanent disabilities. Every effort is made to ensure that students with disabilities have equal access to the academic programmes thereby maximising the opportunities for their personal and academic growth and development.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved