Skip Navigation LinksStudent Residence Affairs > Accommodation Options > Pietermaritzburg Residences

About 1 957 students are accommodated in four halls of residence.

Petrie Hall of Residence

Petrie Hall is a cluster of residences for first to third year female students. The four large residences are Eleanor Russell Hall, University Hall, Wildon Hall and Lodge and are situated close to the Science Block, Administration, Student Services, the library, tennis courts and shops, Post Office and banks. A student committee ensures the smooth running of student life in all residences.

William O’Brien Hall of Residence

Situated on the main campus, William O’Brien residence (men) consists of single rooms distributed over a number of blocks, with communal kitchens. Extra-mural activities are well catered for via the residence sports programme, senior and junior lounges, a large communal games room, a braai area and a visitors’ reception lounge.  It has an area for car repairs, wash bays and secure parking.

Malherbe Hall of Residence

Malherbe Residence (men and women) is situated on Durban Road. Male and female accommodation is separate while common rooms and TV lounge are shared. It has a braai area as well as a quadrangle planted with trees, shrubs and lawn where students play ball games or relax.  It is within walking distance of the Students’ Union, the Science Block, the Old Arts Block, shops, banks and the Post Office. It is however 10 minutes’ walk from the New Arts Block, Commerce, Law, Agriculture or Life Sciences Blocks.  The Malherbe Flats are called Brucian House, and Robleigh House. Consisting of three, four and five-bedroomed flats, they are suited to small groups of students wishing to share accommodation. No sharing of individual rooms is permitted. Rooms are basically furnished and self-catering.  A number of lock-up garages are available to rent.

Denison Hall of Residence

Denison (men and women) is situated in quiet park-like surroundings on the old golf course portion of campus and consists of six sections namely, Upper Goldfields, Lower Goldfields, Towers, Winelands, Phase 5 and Phase 6.  Denison accommodates mainly postgraduate students and a small number of final year students. Phase 6 accommodates Medical School Students only. Denison has a clubhouse, a large communal lounge. The residence has gym, TV, snooker and table tennis facilities.

All four residences are self-catering.

Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved